Forum Discussion
Report lost after changing whom the content pack is shared with
Ah, gotcha I see where you were going now. The issue with what you describe is that the end user doesn't own the dataset or any of the objects... So, as your end user found out, if you delete the content pack or remove sharing, everything they did is lost. How do you reconcile that to allowing an end user to save objects off a Content Pack that they don't own?
It almost sounds like you would want to expose the datasource to your team... You could use a Group workspace so that your entire team could have shared access to the datasources and reports that you pull up into the group.
I think it will be reasonable to save a readonly version of the data source. They can't refresh or change anything.
Group workspace won't work either. Because 1) I cannot publish from desktop to a Group Workspace 2) sharing reports in Group Workspace does not mean it's backing up the reports or letting people save the reports off to other places.
Can someone from MS Power BI provide some recommendations and specially comment on the BIG BUG that I mentioned in my original post?