Forum Discussion
Report lost after changing whom the content pack is shared with
1. Interesting. I'm guessing it treats the share to that group as unique. Sounds like the underneath mechanism deletes and re-applies access... Would be interesting to hear from MS, to have full clarity.
2. Not to my knowledge (ie, not out of the box)
3. Not currently from the site, I've been told the functionality is coming in some of the open forums when I've asked. Currently the only way to keep a copy would be to create the reports in the Desktop tool and then publish.
Regarding #3, what if my team members want to use my content pack? The only way to build report off the content pack is in the web and I haven't found a way to get it out of the power bi web.
- Anonymous11 years agoNot applicable
It is an implementation process issue. You would need to start creating reports in Power BI desktop, then push to the site, then create your content pack. Then, all the updates you want to implement would start in the desktop and follow the same process to push changes. It is not the most elegant solution, but it's all there is right now that I can see.
In you specific case, it is difficult because you already created everything on the site. So it largely depends on how many reports you have out there, and how comfortable you are with waiting for the ability to save reports from the site.
- plai11 years ago
Microsoft Employee
I didn't start on the web. As the content pack author, I created reports and datasets in the desktop and publish to the site. But my team members who want to use my content pack and have their own version of the reports (which I think is the point of having the content pack) can only create reports on the web. But there's not way to backup that. I should put in a feature request for this.
- Anonymous11 years agoNot applicable
Ah, gotcha I see where you were going now. The issue with what you describe is that the end user doesn't own the dataset or any of the objects... So, as your end user found out, if you delete the content pack or remove sharing, everything they did is lost. How do you reconcile that to allowing an end user to save objects off a Content Pack that they don't own?
It almost sounds like you would want to expose the datasource to your team... You could use a Group workspace so that your entire team could have shared access to the datasources and reports that you pull up into the group.