Forum Discussion
Report lost after changing whom the content pack is shared with
I had an org content pack that I originally shared with the entire organzation. A team member has created a personalized version of the report from the content pack. When I changed the content pack to share with my team only, in which the team member is part of, her personalized report was gone.
Three things:
- I know if I delete or remove access to the content pack, personalized content will be gone. But this is not the case. The team member continues to have access to the same content pack. This seems like a BIG BUG to me.
- Is there any way to recover the report that disappeared?
- Is there a way to backup a report? E.g. can you save a local copy of the report to the desktop or a different site so we have a backup of the reports?
6 Replies
- AnonymousNot applicable
1. Interesting. I'm guessing it treats the share to that group as unique. Sounds like the underneath mechanism deletes and re-applies access... Would be interesting to hear from MS, to have full clarity.
2. Not to my knowledge (ie, not out of the box)
3. Not currently from the site, I've been told the functionality is coming in some of the open forums when I've asked. Currently the only way to keep a copy would be to create the reports in the Desktop tool and then publish.
- plai
Microsoft Employee
Regarding #3, what if my team members want to use my content pack? The only way to build report off the content pack is in the web and I haven't found a way to get it out of the power bi web.
- AnonymousNot applicable
It is an implementation process issue. You would need to start creating reports in Power BI desktop, then push to the site, then create your content pack. Then, all the updates you want to implement would start in the desktop and follow the same process to push changes. It is not the most elegant solution, but it's all there is right now that I can see.
In you specific case, it is difficult because you already created everything on the site. So it largely depends on how many reports you have out there, and how comfortable you are with waiting for the ability to save reports from the site.