Forum Discussion
Pro License Disable Personal Workspaces
- 8 months ago
Hi icassiem ,
Based on the test, this was a very small scale, entering in my tenant with two differentes users (I did both roles) I have done this are the answers:
1. Does this mean that shared links no longer work for all and they can only access via the workspace?
None of the shared links will work.
2. what happens if the user was already provided access via the share link to the workspace, would it just stop working for all that has the forwarded link?
Previous provided links will return a message that the user does not have access to the underalying semantic model they need to get in contact with the owner of the semantic model.
3. does that mean any reports copy url will also stop or should only i block the cowboys?
Yes they will not be able to share the copy URL because the buttons on the share pop up will be greydout.
Maybe you can test this out with a co-worker of yours sharing a report with him and the turning off that option for you and see the end result on their side.
Hi icassiem ,
To my you cannot disable the personal workspaces because that is where people will have the way to test out Power BI and so on. However you can disable the publish to web option on the admin portal. Believe that there is no option to force users to only get files from a sharepoint central location.
This is a difficult point because users will always tend to go to the "fast lane", I know this may not be the best advice but after getting into that situation several times, what worked for me was to remove access to specific individuals, and then got into a discussion about what is wrong with their approach. In those cases, and I was lucky enough this was not a high number of cases, I even had to bring other players into the meeting so we could get things up and running properly.
MFelix Thank You
what does the "disable the publish to web option on the admin porta" do?
we on i think the E3 license where pro is available for all users, if i remove the access means the user cant view or publish at all any reports? i just wanted to block a few users from personal workspace sharing reports
- MFelix8 months agoSuper User
Hi icassiem ,
Apoligies but when you refer that the persons share the URL what is the URL they are sharing? Are they using the publish to web or the sharing option at the top of the report?
I assumed it was publish to web and should have done the previous question first.
To my knowledge E3 license do not include Power BI~, that is only included in E5 please chek the link below with the options for E3 vs E5
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/enterprise/office-365-e3#whats-included
Try this option on the admin:
Probably you will need to use the except specific security groups so you would create a group wiht the persons you want to exclude and then use the specific security groups.
Be aware that I'm not sure if this will remove the option from the personal workspaces but believe it will also.
Based on my test the report cannot be share even on personal workspaces.
If the person already has the link it will return this error
- icassiem8 months agoPost Prodigy
MFelix wow, thanks, i did the below and disabled the option
Mostly the "sharing option at the top of the report"1. Does this mean that shared links no longer work for all and they can only access via the workspace?
2. what happens if the user was already provided access via the share link to the workspace, would it just stop working for all that has the forwarded link?
3. does that mean any reports copy url will also stop or should only i block the cowboys?
This will be great if users can only access via the workspace because they wont be able to access the cowboys personal workspace in the pbi service- MFelix8 months agoSuper User
Hi icassiem ,
Based on the test, this was a very small scale, entering in my tenant with two differentes users (I did both roles) I have done this are the answers:
1. Does this mean that shared links no longer work for all and they can only access via the workspace?
None of the shared links will work.
2. what happens if the user was already provided access via the share link to the workspace, would it just stop working for all that has the forwarded link?
Previous provided links will return a message that the user does not have access to the underalying semantic model they need to get in contact with the owner of the semantic model.
3. does that mean any reports copy url will also stop or should only i block the cowboys?
Yes they will not be able to share the copy URL because the buttons on the share pop up will be greydout.
Maybe you can test this out with a co-worker of yours sharing a report with him and the turning off that option for you and see the end result on their side.