Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

GrimReaperX
Helper II
Helper II

Power BI Service questions

Hello folks,

I am new to service environment and have couple of questions. 
I have power bi pro license assigned to my profile within my company. My colleague shared a report and dataset with me where they are with diamond symbol. I am able to see the created report however when I try to go dataset with the link shared with me, i can see nothing. Is there some specific reason you can think of?

Besides that, is it possible to create measures in this report in service environment? Can i edit report or create new report based on this shared dataset?

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

1. You can view the existence of the Dataset if the Admin adds you to the Workspace that the Dataset exists in, but you really don't need to see where it lives, you just need the permissions to use it which is what they did for you.  For example:  I keep my Datasets in a Workspace that no one else can see, but I give permissions to use the Dataset.  This allows users to view reports/create their own.

2. Correct

3. You can live connect to the Dataset in Desktop and build from scratch, but per my last reply, most users create reports from scratch in Service via Create Report > Pick a published Dataset  (most users don't create Measures, in my opinion the Dataset creator should provide the Measure if it's a long term need).

4. It sounds like the Dataset admin just gave you permissions to the Dataset, therefore you can build reports on it as outline above.
5. While you have Premium, the main need for a Pro License is to author/manage Datasets.  One of the advantages of Premium is not needing to buy Pro Licenses except for a select group of Dataset authors.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
cassidy