Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

jengwt
Helper V
Helper V

Personal vs Enterprise Data-Source Connections for On-Prem Gateway

Hello. I am a new PBI tenant admin, and have a problem that datasets which include cloud (SQL Svr) sources claim that the enterprise gateway is required to refresh them. They insist that I add those sources to the gateway.

The problem with this is that we use PBI Pro per user licensing, and one of our datasets is "too big" for the gateway. Therefore, I can only refresh that dataset via the cloud.

We are also working to reduce the dataset size, but that won't solve this problem.

Regardless, we shouldn't be required to run these cloud data sources through the gateway.

Strangely, when I have one of my coworkers take control of such a dataset, the service seems to "forget" about this problem and will allow refreshing through the cloud as long as credentials are provided. If I then take control of the dataset back from them, it is still happy.

So, this does not appear to be user specific, but only occurs when one of us modifies the enterprise gateway connections or settings and the service seems to "remember" that this is a problem.

How can I control if a data source uses the cloud over the gateway? How can I both have those SQL Svrs listed as connection on my gateway and tell the gateway or datasets to prioritize the use of the cloud over the gateway for a given source?

Thanks for your help!

Yes, I know I can file a ticket. I am filing one through our partner.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jengwt
Helper V
Helper V