Forum Discussion
Permissions keeps removing groups
- 6 years ago
It looks like what was happening was rather simple, but it was non-obvious.
The group I was trying to share with has Access to the entire workspace as the relatively new "Viewer" role where the application is published. Because of this, you can't add the group directly to the application--it will automatically remove that group (without saying anything) because they already have access through the workspace (seems obvious, but was unclear in application).
Thank you for the help,
John
Hi v-xicai ,
We are indeed in Option 2 with this app workspace falling into the Power BI Premium capacity.
I am trying to add two groups to the Permissions using the "Specific individuals or group" radio button. I type in the two groups (ENG_DEPT_ILOX_US and ACCOUNTING_ALL_US) and both are recognized. I select them, click Update app and it tells me that it can take some time.
I leave the page, wait, and later go back to it. When I go back, it has removed ENG_DEPT_ILOX_US for reasons unknown to me--that's what I am trying to figure out.
Does the email address box show only valid groups or is it possible this group does not meet the requirements? Also, is there a way to check if I am in a classic workspace or the new one (I am betting classic).
I am just not sure if this is a PowerBI bug or something I am doing--regardless the PowerBI interface isn't helping me figure it out
Thanks
Hi jdsg ,
Currently, there are some differences between the classic workspace and new workspace. For example the following UI page:
You can learn more about the differences between the classic workspace and new workspace: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/service-new-workspaces#how-the-new-workspaces-are-different.
Please check if the users and groups have access to this workspace.
Best Regards,
Amy
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
- jdsg6 years agoFrequent Visitor
It looks like what was happening was rather simple, but it was non-obvious.
The group I was trying to share with has Access to the entire workspace as the relatively new "Viewer" role where the application is published. Because of this, you can't add the group directly to the application--it will automatically remove that group (without saying anything) because they already have access through the workspace (seems obvious, but was unclear in application).
Thank you for the help,
John
- Anonymous6 years agoNot applicable
Thanks for coming back and posting an update! We were having the exact same issue however we were embedding the app in sharepoint and the group users were unable to see the report in sharepoint until we removed viewer from the workspace and added them on the app instead.