Forum Discussion
Office 365 groups creating Classing Workspaces (Groups) in Power BI Service
- Anonymous6 years ago
Hi DebbieE ,
Yes. Actually there already be one topic about preventing create classic workspace automatically when create Office 365 group as mentioned in my previous post. If the number of votes reaches a certain number, the relevant team will develop this feature so that this feature may be implemented in the near future. You can vote here and add comments to speed up the process. Thank you.
Best Regards
Rena
Hi DebbieE ,
Yes, it might be. But only the admin of workspaces can delete them, and you can only delete them one by one in Power BI Service since you still want to keep these Office 365 groups.
Best Regards
Rena
This means I have to go round to every owner to see if its possible to add me as admin to to this. They arent going to really understand why as many of them dont use Power BI. surely there should be a fix for this?
- Anonymous6 years agoNot applicable
Hi DebbieE ,
You can contact the global admin of Office 365 and request him to add you as Owner of these groups which need to be deleted in the future in Microsoft 365 admin center. Please refer this documentation about how to find the global amdin of Office 365.
Then you can execute the same operations as before: upgrade these classic workspace to New experience workspace and delete them.
Best Regards
Rena
- DebbieE6 years agoCommunity Champion
that will be slightly easier but Office 365 groups are created all the time. Its going to need to be cleaned up as an ongoing project. I dont understand the decision to let every Office 365 group become an App workspace ?
- Anonymous6 years agoNot applicable
Hi DebbieE ,
Because you still want to keep these Office 365 groups, then we can't directly delete the classic workspace in Power BI Service or delete Office 365 group in Office admin center. These 2 methods will delete both of the classic workspace and Office 365 group. However, after upgraded, the new workspace isn’t tied to the Office 365 Group anymore. That means that if you delete the Office 365 Group, the workspace won’t be deleted. Also, if you delete the workspace, the Office 365 Group won’t be deleted.
Best Regards
Rena