Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MEFOX
Helper III
Helper III

Monthly Azure fees associated with refreshes

I have a pay as you go subscription to Azure. I noticed that the Power BI reports written with Direct Query have been scheduled to refresh every hour. Does anyone know if this could be adding to my monthly Azure subscription costs?  Is there any point to a scheduled refresh if the Power BI report is written as Direct Query? 

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Shahfaisal
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

It all depends on your Azure subscription.

1. If you are using Power BI Pro, there would be no additional cost to refresh hourly (though there are limitations on how many times you can refresh in a day)

2. If you are using Direct Query, you don't need to refresh the data since Power BI is directly interacting with data in the database.

3. If you are using a database as part of your Azure subscription, depending on how the subscription is setup, you might incur cost for querying the database using Power BI.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
MEFOX
Helper III
Helper III

I'm getting this message when I open a PBI reportd with direct query. I don't understand why?

MEFOX_0-1653320586942.png

@MEFOX wrote:

I'm getting this message when I open a PBI reportd with direct query. I don't understand why?

MEFOX_0-1653320586942.png

Please create another forum post since this is a new/separate topic/question. Power BI Service will disable refresh if the report hasn't been used for a long time. See below.