Forum Discussion

kp_wood13's avatar
kp_wood13
Helper I
1 year ago
Solved

Migrating to Shared Semantic Model

We originally built all our reports with a semantic model per report and are now migrating them to use one master semantic model. I noticed the individual semantic models are still present and still publish through the pipeline, is it safe to delete them once a report is migrated to the master data model?

  • Hi kp_wood13 

     

    Yes, once you have successfully migrated the report, it should be fine to delete the older semantic models. What I would recommend doing is making sure when you go to your master semantic model, that when you click on the lineage view, you can make sure that all your new reports are mapping through to your new master model. This will ensure that you do not delete a semantic model that has not yet been successfully migrated.

1 Reply

  • Hi kp_wood13 

     

    Yes, once you have successfully migrated the report, it should be fine to delete the older semantic models. What I would recommend doing is making sure when you go to your master semantic model, that when you click on the lineage view, you can make sure that all your new reports are mapping through to your new master model. This will ensure that you do not delete a semantic model that has not yet been successfully migrated.