Forum Discussion

Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous
Not applicable
6 years ago

How to convert published report to cloud-based report

We have multiple reports created on the web from a single dataset, but our largest report (about 10 pages + drill-throughs and tooltips) was created from the dataset's pbix file and published to the service. We would like to have ALL of our reports originate on the service to simplify edits and reduce the chance that two people will be in the pbix at the same time.

 

What we tried:

1) In the service, copy the report published from pbix ("Report A") and rename "Report B" so that when we publish the pbix file again it will not overwrite Report B since it has a different name.

2) Delete Report A from the service.

3) Delete all report pages in the pbix.

 

Result: The next time we made changes in the pbix and published it up, Report B was wiped. Luckily we had our pbix file on sharepoint and could restore the version with the report pages.

 

Any ideas on how to do this? Or why it wiped a report with a different name? I'd like to avoid recreating the whole report in the service.

3 Replies

  • Hi there

    The reason for this is each report has a unique GUID, so at times even if it has the same name it could be identified as a different report.

    I would suggest always creating the PBIX using Power BI Desktop, there is a lot more functionality in the desktop. It is also best practice. And it will allow you as in this case to have versions of the files?
    • Anonymous's avatar
      Anonymous
      Not applicable

      Unfortunately, this does not help. I realize that in some cases that is a best practice, but in our case we need to have separate reports for separate purposes or deliverables using the same dataset.


      With that said, even if it is not a best practice, is there a way to convert a published report to being cloud-based so that the related pbix file does not overwrite it?

      • GilbertQ's avatar
        GilbertQ
        Super User
        Hi there

        Currently if a user has got a role with the right permissions on the App Workspace they can still overwrite it.

        This is how it is currently designed at this time.