Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Forbidden error on fetching dataset parameters

Please forgive me if I ask stupid quesions as I'm new to everything.

Essentially I'd like to copy a Power BI report from one workspace to another and then modify the data source's parameters. The datasource is backed by Databricks.

I've followed this article https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/developer/embedded/embed-service-principal to set up a service principle, then generated a secret so that I could authenticate with the Power BI API.

I then assigned the service principal as an Admin of the Power BI workspaces.

I was able to run the code snippet below to authenticate

$azureAplicationId = "<redacted>"
$azureTenantId = "<redacted>"
$servicePrincipalSecret = ConvertTo-SecureString "<redacted>" -AsPlainText -Force
$psCred = New-Object System.Management.Automation.PSCredential($azureAplicationId , $servicePrincipalSecret)
Connect-PowerBIServiceAccount -ServicePrincipal -Credential $psCred -Tenant $azureTenantId

Then I was able to download a report from one workspace and copy it to another:

Export-PowerBIReport -Id $report.Id -WorkspaceId $ws.Id -OutFile "$($reportName).pbix"
New-PowerBIReport -Path "$($reportName).pbix" -WorkspaceId $targetWs.Id -Timeout 3600 -Name "$($reportName)._"

However, I got the 403 error when I tried to fetch information of the dataset associated with a workspace

$dataset = Get-PowerBIDataset -Id $report.DatasetId -WorkspaceId $ws.Id
Invoke-PowerBIRestMethod -Url "https://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/datasets/$($dataset.Id)/parameters" -Method Get
Invoke-PowerBIRestMethod: One or more errors occurred. (Response status code does not indicate success: 403 (Forbidden).)

A little bit more detailed of the error:

PS /home/ubuntu> Resolve-PowerBIError -Last

HistoryId: 63