Forum Discussion

darmstro's avatar
darmstro
Regular Visitor
10 years ago
Solved

Errors accessing dashboard after joining Office 365 Group?

We are currently working on getting a dashboard put together for use by a variety of users, and wish to allow users to opt into the group in order to access the dashboard/report (rather than listing them ahead of time). The issue is that:

 

  • When a user self-enrolls into the dashboard's Office 365 group, and then tries to access the data immediately afterward, they still get a 'You do not have access to this group' message.
  • However, the second time they try in a short period, they will get access.
  • Additionally, if you remove a user from the group and they attempt to view a report page in that group, the layout will load, but the information will be entirely filled with errors; if they reload from there, they get the 'You do not have access to this group' message again.

It sounds to me like the program is checking any access existing inside the Power BI dashboard's group information before it checks for the group information from the larger network. This seems to be a bug in the system; is there a way to fix it locally? Is there a timing that would guarantee this issue does not occur?

  • Anonymous's avatar
    Anonymous
    9 years ago

    Hi darmstro,

     

    According to your description, it seems like a web delay issue.  You can wait for some minutes and test again(after finish the operations).

     

    Regards,

    Xiaoxin Sheng

3 Replies

  • Anonymous's avatar
    Anonymous
    Not applicable

    Hi darmstro,

     

    According to your description, it seems like a web delay issue.  You can wait for some minutes and test again(after finish the operations).

     

    Regards,

    Xiaoxin Sheng

    • darmstro's avatar
      darmstro
      Regular Visitor

      That sounds like a stopgap solution; the issue I find is that you are given an existing access level before it checks to see what access level you should be given. This can be seen both immediately after being given authorization (false denial), and when that authorization is revoked (access to a dashboard full of errors). To me, this sounds like a form of caching of authorization, which in some cases may not be desirable.