Forum Discussion

Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous
Not applicable
5 years ago
Solved

Direct Access versus shared link

Hello Community - Quick question/clarifcation

 

I have a report that I want to share with certain users.   The workspace the report is in has a lot of people in it, but I only want certain people in that workspace to be able to see this report.  

 

When I click on permissions, it shows a number of people with "direct access" but I have only shared the report (via a link) with one person.    Can the "direct access" people even see the report if I have not shared it with them?   Otherwise, how would they know it exist?   Again, ideally I do not want most of the people on the direct access list to even see the report.    Thanks

  • If a person has been granted access to a workspace, then they will be able to see all reports in that workspace

     

    For report consumers, you likely do not want to give them access to a workspace, but rather the specific reports in the workspace only

3 Replies

  • If a person has been granted access to a workspace, then they will be able to see all reports in that workspace

     

    For report consumers, you likely do not want to give them access to a workspace, but rather the specific reports in the workspace only

    • Anonymous's avatar
      Anonymous
      Not applicable

      blopez11    So, how would someone who has "direct access" even know the report existed if the report had not been shared with them?   

       

      • blopez11's avatar
        blopez11
        Super User

        If they have been granted access to a workspace, I am not aware that they would receive a notification in this case

         

        But to see all of the reports they have access to, they would have to navigate to the Power BI service, and on the left hand side, select "Shared with me".  Here they will see everything they have access to, regardless of whether they have access to the report through workspace access, or the report sharing action, or through an app

         

        Also, on the left hand side, they could see all of the workspaces they have access to, and navigate that way, but through "Shared with me" may be easier