Forum Discussion
Content pack sharing
Merging author changes with user changes is cumbersome and no amount of auto merge will help. It's better to leave this to the user and often they are simple ui changes. Note that in both cases they get the same data and model.
meysun What are the steps to republish the dashboard/report after changes as I was unable to find the option ?
- andre11 years agoMemorable Member
this post covers how to share and update content organizational content packs
- meysun11 years agoResolver IV
Select the View content pack under the settings gear/cog icon and Edit the content pack that you would like to update and follow the steps in the above document.
- muvanni11 years agoNew Member
I am totally confused: when I share a dashboard a user (in our domain) apparently cannot see in PBI (web site version) as they don't have a full O365 account to click the link in the email. If they just log into PBI with user name and trial license (pro) they don't see the shared dashboard. If I creat a 'Content Pack' they can see that but also all the reports, etc. with it. Further I removed the content pack but they can still see it and use the dashboard??
Question: how does this work? I want to share a dashboard with our Board Members, they have domain user names (logins) and PBI trial licenses yet when I share a dashboard they can't see it; I have to publish a content pack...... Further what are "free" PBI licenses for? What can they do? I realize this is documented (limited) but most of the documentation, at least regarding sharing, etc. seems to be incorrect and or BPI is not working as expected.... any help is appreciated.
- meysun11 years agoResolver IV
Let us first clarify Sharing vs Content Pack.
1. When you share, the users will get an email notification. The user has to click the link in the email to activate it. Without clicking the email, if they go to PBI.com directly they won't see the Shared dashboard. To receive email, you don't need full O365 account. You just need a valid business email account.
2. When you publish content pack, users will see it under Get Data -> My Organization. There is no emailing in this scenario. When the content pack author deletes the content pack, it goes away from all the users.
https://support.powerbi.com/knowledgebase/articles/651631
If a group member has not customized the original content pack, then the content is automatically removed, and the dashboard and reports associated with that content pack will no longer be available (and won't appear in the Navigation Pane).
If a group member has customized the content pack, the next time she opens the customized dashboard all tiles from the original content pack will be gone. But tiles pinned from other reports will still render. The original content pack reports and dataset will no longer be available (and won't appear in her Navigation pane).