Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

aryad
Regular Visitor

CoPilot General Pane Querying Semantic Model

Hello,

I'm an intern that desperately needs some clarification regarding the new CoPilot preview feature of answering data questions. I notice that it only has been able to query data from visuals on my report, but it can't answer data questions from my semantic model. (Example: If I ask about a data table that isn't directly visualized on my report, but is in my semantic model, CoPilot won't generate a response). I'm a bit confused if I am doing something wrong, because Microsoft states that "Copilot will query your model and return the answer to your question in the form of a visual" as long as Q&A is enabled. In that same article, Microsoft provides screenshots of them querying the general pane for CoPilot and asking about their semantic model - they don't seem to be querying a Q&A visual. My understanding is that as long as Q&A is enabled, I should be able to query the CoPilot preview general pane about anything that is in my semantic model - not just my report. 

Any help/guidance is appreciated! Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yohua-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @aryad 

Based on your description, CoPilot seems to have a limitation when querying data that isn't directly visualized in the report. This is a known limitation of the current CoPilot feature set. In the current iteration, CoPilot generates visuals and answers based primarily on the data that has been visualized in the report. This means that if some of the data in the semantic model isn't represented in any of the report's visuals, CoPilot might not be able to query the model directly or provide answers about it.