Forum Discussion
Build permission app
Hi,
I have shared an app to all in the organisation and have turned on the build permission after a while that was not there before.
Now I have turned off the build again and is it correct that those who already have accessed the app still have the build permission right even though the build permission is turned of now?
To remove build permission for all, old and new users, build permission should be removed in each datasett/report of in the app??
- Anonymous4 years ago
Hi Anonymous ,
You are right, please check the document.
When you check the option to Allow users to connect to the app's underlying datasets, you're giving app users Build permission on those datasets. With this permission, they can do several key actions:
- Use the app datasets as the basis for their reports.
- Search for these datasets in Power BI Desktop and in the get-data experience in the Power BI service.
- Create reports and dashboards based on these datasets.
When you clear this option, new users you add to the app don't get Build permission. However, for existing app users, permissions on the underlying datasets don't change. You can remove Build permission manually from app users who should no longer have it. Read more about the Build permission.
Best Regards,
Jay
1 Reply
- AnonymousNot applicable
Hi Anonymous ,
You are right, please check the document.
When you check the option to Allow users to connect to the app's underlying datasets, you're giving app users Build permission on those datasets. With this permission, they can do several key actions:
- Use the app datasets as the basis for their reports.
- Search for these datasets in Power BI Desktop and in the get-data experience in the Power BI service.
- Create reports and dashboards based on these datasets.
When you clear this option, new users you add to the app don't get Build permission. However, for existing app users, permissions on the underlying datasets don't change. You can remove Build permission manually from app users who should no longer have it. Read more about the Build permission.
Best Regards,
Jay