Forum Discussion
Azure Dev Ops integration - pull only
Wow so you can not stop your source control from being changed!
So any user can come into the workspace and if they have the relevant permission then they can just change the reports and update the source control.
I see this as a bad accident waiting to happen. If a user changes the reprort in workspace A they can update the source control. Then users in Workspace B and Workspace C just pull through the changes. That means all three environments can get trashed.
Surely you can disable write back to source control?
I don't think it's an accident. If you give them permission you trust the user to work properly. You can prevent users syncronization, but I'm not sure how that will impact once you push a different version and syncroniza with changes a user has mande. Fabric admin can change this settings for a security group of people:
It might prevent change from going to Fabric to repo. I can't tell how that will impact when changes from the portal and from repo get together.
I hope that helps,
- ells691 year agoHelper I
Surely that can not be so.
If the user that you use to link to Azure Dev Ops only has read permission then this is a way for him to ignore that and overwrite code under source control.
Sorry I struggle t obelieve that MS would be that bad that they do not check if the user ID used in workspace settings has the right to update in Azure Dev Ops Repository.
This seems like a gapping hole!
Sorry or the long rant but just dont see why they would let you override all of the security in your Azure Dev Ops.
If I make a change in VS Code I can only push to Azure Dev Ops if I have permission to push. You are saying in Fabric if my accout is used to connect to Azure Dev Ops and I only have read permission then I can juts overwrite source control?
Why would anyone enable this if it can juist overwrite your source control with no control what so ever?