Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Martin_How
Frequent Visitor

Analyze in Excel loophole ?

Hi Guys, 

I think I've read the entire forum about Analyze in Excel and it seems to be a bit conflicting, So I am hoping to get a final answer via this post: 

Case:

I am a PBI Pro User (my company doesn't have the premium license). I make reports/datasets in PBI desktop and publish them to a number of workspaces regarding for whom the report is meant (finance, sales, marketing....). 

I add al the users who need the report in the workspace and give them rights to "build new content using the underlying dataset". I allso share the (blank) report with them in the PBI Service. The dataset is refreshed during the night. 

Finally I "Analyze in Excel" that report/dataset and build the pivottablereport based on that ODC.? file and share it with the users who need the report. 

A bunch of these users just have a free License, yet they are capable of opening the Excel; en the data inside keeps refreshing (based of the dataset in the PBI service). 

So on the one hand I read that Analyze in Excel is a PBI pro user feature, I assume this is just for the actual analyse in excel button in the workspace, and not for using an Excel with a data connection to the dataset in the service ? 
Alls the scheduled refresh should be a PBI pro user feature ?  (https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Service/Confused-about-what-qualifies-as-quot-Power-BI-Pro-content-...)

And on the other I read that as long there is no direct query connection of the DATASET and the DATASources (SQL in my case), the free users should be good to explore the dataset (with scheduled refresh) without any issues (https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Service/Confused-about-what-qualifies-as-quot-Power-BI-Pro-content-...)

Question: