Forum Discussion
2 different options for a workspace?
WHy i see 2 different screens in the options for a Workspace?
There is a workspace, for which I can add people with 3 different access:
But for another workspace I only see these options:
How can I get the first view on both?… in this last case; I can’t really grant ‘viewer’ access…
Hi there. The reason is that you have two different workspaces there.
The first one is part of the "New Experience" of workspaces. That one might has been created kind of recently while the second one is an old one.
The first one is part of the way that Power Bi is working right now and has a lot more benefits
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/collaborate-share/service-new-workspaces
On the other hand, the second one is "Classic workspace". I wouldn't recommend working with that one. It's old, you won't have a lot of features. You can migrate it in its options.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/collaborate-share/service-create-workspaces
I hope that make sense
Hi, Anonymous
This is because the two workspaces are of different types. The former is a new workspace and the latter is a classic workspace. Only the new workspace has the role of View, although the member role with only viewing permission in the classic work is also the viewer permission. If you want to choose the viewer role, please upgrade the classic workspace to a new workspace.Compared with Classic:
Upgrade the Classic workspace:
or
Create a Classicworkspace:
Please refer to the information below for more information
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/collaborate-share/service-create-workspaces
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/collaborate-share/service-create-the-new-workspaces
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/collaborate-share/service-upgrade-workspaces
Hope this helps.
Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Zeon Zheng
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
2 Replies
- ibarrauSuper User
Hi there. The reason is that you have two different workspaces there.
The first one is part of the "New Experience" of workspaces. That one might has been created kind of recently while the second one is an old one.
The first one is part of the way that Power Bi is working right now and has a lot more benefits
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/collaborate-share/service-new-workspaces
On the other hand, the second one is "Classic workspace". I wouldn't recommend working with that one. It's old, you won't have a lot of features. You can migrate it in its options.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/collaborate-share/service-create-workspaces
I hope that make sense
- v-angzheng-msftCommunity Support
Hi, Anonymous
This is because the two workspaces are of different types. The former is a new workspace and the latter is a classic workspace. Only the new workspace has the role of View, although the member role with only viewing permission in the classic work is also the viewer permission. If you want to choose the viewer role, please upgrade the classic workspace to a new workspace.Compared with Classic:
Upgrade the Classic workspace:
or
Create a Classicworkspace:
Please refer to the information below for more information
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/collaborate-share/service-create-workspaces
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/collaborate-share/service-create-the-new-workspaces
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/collaborate-share/service-upgrade-workspaces
Hope this helps.
Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Zeon Zheng
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.