Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

IbisRipley
Frequent Visitor

on-prem (PBIRS) APIs to use for datasources (Paginated, PBI, and shared )

Hi all

We are using PBIRS (latest release). I am a report developer and I am being asked to compile a list of username and connect strings, and eventually I'd like to be able to modify the username as well.  It seems as if using an API is the best approach and I don't have much experience but I have created 2 scripts (below) and looking for general feedback.

My requirements are to Retrieve a list of ALL Datasources ( of all 3 types ) with Connectstring and userID

I have built 2 powershell scripts as follows

(REST, I believe)

$ReportServerURI = "<Reportserverserver>/Reports/"
$session = New-RsRestSession -ReportPortalUri $ReportServerURI;
$rsItems = Get-RsFolderContent -RsFolder $startingFolder -ReportServerUri $ReportServerURI -Recurse | Where-Object -Property "TypeName" -In "PowerBIReport", "Report";
foreach ($rsitem In $rsItems )
$rds = Get-RsRestItemDataSource -WebSession $session -RsItem $rsitem.Path;

foreach ($d in $rds)
{
$DataSourceUser = $d.DataModelDataSource.Username
$datasourceConnectString = $d.DataModelDataSource # I notice the connectstring is in here, so I think I can parse it out.

This returns most of the fields for Power BI reports, but I was unable to find the values for paginated

(Old SOAP API?)

$uri = "Reportserver//ReportServer/ReportService2010.asmx?WSDL" }

$reporting = New-WebServiceProxy -uri $uri -UseDefaultCredential -namespace "ReportingWebService"
$reports = $reporting.ListChildren($startingFolder, $True) | Where-Object {$_.TypeName -eq "Report"}

foreach($report in $reports)
{ $reportpath = $report.Path

$dataSources = $reporting.GetItemDataSources($report.Path)
foreach($dataSource in $dataSources)