Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

kostaszogo21
Frequent Visitor

Real-time data in PBRS

Hello guys!
Newbie here so i would appreciate all the help i can get from you.
It's my first project in Power BI, so i am gonna  try and explain my problem with as many details as possible:

• we're using import mode (because we use ODBC connection and that's our only choice)
  • the client wants almost real-time data (20-25 minutes before current time) so we have to schedule multiple refreshes during the day 
  • we are using Power BI Report Server, so we cannot use incremental refresh.
  • the data is huge (around 50M rows) and every scheduled refresh takes around 30-40, which means we cannot have near real-time data

Can you please think of any solution to my problem?

It would be really convenient if i could refresh just one table from my dataset when using scheduled refresh, but from what i've searched that's not possible.
We are also thinking of using SSAS, creating partitions in the tables (today's data and older data) and refresh older data in another tool and let PBRS' scheduled refresh run the refreshes in only the today's partition. But i don't know if that's even possible or how to do it to be honest.

Can anybody recommend a solution to myproblem?

Is there a way to have near real-time data in PBRS when using Import Mode and the data are huge?

I hope that my problem is really easy and someone from the community will save my project!
Thanks in advance guys,

Kostas

PS: No pbix file available, because of the company's policy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@kostaszogo21 wrote:

do you mean because i will be using DirectQuery to connect to Analysis Services (once i have created these partitions) ? Or is there another reason for that?