Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Akircher
Frequent Visitor

New to Power Bi and Paginated Reports

Hello I am new to Power Bi and Paginated reports. I mostly use excel and python pandas for data anlysis.  At my job I have been asked to make a paginated report off a shared report.  When I open the report in Power Bi desktop the only side tab that I have is the report tab and do not have access to the data or model tab (the only reason I am menting this is because I am not sure if it is relevant). 

I noticed that some of the data I need to work with is stored as an implicit measure in Power BI Desktop and when I open it in Paginated reports it changes it to a table instead of a measure. I found out that I am suppose to convert this to an explict meausre for it to appear in measures. However, I also found out you can use Desktop Performance Anlyzer and copy the DAX into the query designer.  

I am trying to figure out why I can post the DAX that works with implicit measures and the table will produce results but when I try to put the implict measure (now a table object) into the report table builder as a value it does not.  Why can the DAX work with implict values in Report builder while the query designer struggles? I guess I feel lost because I am realitively new to this. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
d_gosbell
Super User
Super User

I'm not really sure I'm understanding what you are doing so maybe it will help if we define some terms.