Forum Discussion

Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous
Not applicable
2 years ago

Power BI connection in Excel - Unable to sign into data connection

Good morning!

 

I work for multiple clients and regularly utilise data connections to Power BI datasets within Excel files.

 

On occasion, when flipping between clients, I get the following error message saying I don't have permission to the dataset:

 

 

"An error occurred while loading the dataset '<redacted>'.

To refresh this dataset you must have permissions.

Request access and try again. Note that you might need to log in first.

Click here to request access"

 

Normally, when I click 'OK', a login prompt appears which allows me to re-authorise the data connection using my credentials for that client.

 

However, from today, for any client whose Excel files I try to refresh, I get this message and never get prompted to sign in - meaning I'm unable to refresh any Power BI dataset-linked Excel files.

 

How can I force Excel to let me log into these connections/refresh my credentials for the datasets?

 

I have tried creating a new Excel file with a data connection via clicking 'Analyze in Excel' from the published model, but I get a 'Forbidden' error when opening the file - again, without the ability to provide credentials.

 

Thanks,

Ally

15 Replies

  • Hi All,

     

    My collegue has the exact same problem, for me it still working.

    We are both on version:

    Microsoft® Excel® for Microsoft 365 MSO (Version 2409 Build 16.0.18025.20030) 64-bit

    Looks like existing connections keep working and that new connection won't?

    Also in Excel only everything works fine for both of us.

    I think to remember previously a login screen popped up where it now stopped doing this. Anyone found a working fix?

    EDIT WITH TEMP SOLUTION:
    Revert Office to earlier version:

    How to revert to an earlier version of Office - Microsoft Support

    Working version:

    <Configuration>
    <Updates Enabled="TRUE" TargetVersion="16.0.17928.20156" />
    </Configuration>


    Seems to be an Excel issue hope someone from the Excel team can give a permanent fix.

    • pfarias's avatar
      pfarias
      Icon for Advocate II rankAdvocate II

      I L-O-V-E Y-O-U!!!😍

      WOOOWWWWW

       

      I've been in this situation since the beginning of the month. I even contacted Microsoft support, but they didn't know the reason.

  • Anonymous's avatar
    Anonymous
    Not applicable

    Hi all,

     

    I will report this issue to the product group and update below if I have any news.

    Please refer to BlobBlobHopHop's workaround to roll back the Excel version until it is fixed.

     

    Best Regards,
    Gao

    Community Support Team

  • Anonymous's avatar
    Anonymous
    Not applicable

    I have reverted Office back to version 2407 (Build 17830.20166) which has fixed the issue. That would suggest it is a bug with the version I was on previously. Is there a way to escalate this issue for resolution?

  • Anonymous's avatar
    Anonymous
    Not applicable

    Hi Anonymous ,

     

    Could you check these Prerequisites. Make sure the organization has these options turned on and that the account you are using has right permissions.

    Connect Excel to Power BI semantic models - Power BI | Microsoft Learn

     

    Try clearing the cache by going to File > Options > Save > Delete Cached Files.

     

    Also try signing out and back into your account in Excel. Go to File > Account and sign out from any accounts that are logged in. Restart Excel, sign in with the correct account and try to refresh the data again

     

    Make sure your Office applications are up to date. Sometimes, updates can fix bugs that might be causing this issue.

    Best Regards,
    Gao

    Community Support Team

     

    If there is any post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution  to help the other members find it more quickly.
    If I misunderstand your needs or you still have problems on it, please feel free to let us know. Thanks a lot!

    How to get your questions answered quickly --  How to provide sample data in the Power BI Forum

    • Bijaelo's avatar
      Bijaelo
      Frequent Visitor

      We're facing the exact same issue. However we have been able to test even further. The issue seems restricted to certain tenants, service principals or users. 

      We work with different firms, and use various logins to help clients build their ressources. Across clients only a single user for a single client seem to be affected by the problem. Through testing across laptops, we have found the following:

       

      • The problem is not fixed by any suggested method, such as clearing the cache, reinstalling office or logging out of all other accounts

      • Using a fresh session (clean installation, no other user logged into any office application) the problem persists.

      • The error is restricted to Microsoft Excel data connections via either "Get Data" => "From Power Platform" => "From PowerBI" or the "Analyse in Excel" functionality online. Both old and new connections are affected, and both pivot and table imports are affected.

      • The error occurs on all across laptops, for the specific user. 

      • The error exists in version 18025.20096 and 18025.20104
      • Reverting to version 17928.20156 or 17830.20210 resolved the issue, suggesting this to be a bug in version 18025.20096 and onwards.

       

      Quite frustrating.

    • Anonymous's avatar
      Anonymous
      Not applicable

      Good morning.

       

      I have tried all of those options but with no success. I am still stuck in a loop of being unable to log in to the data connection with the correct credentials.

       

      I am on the following version of Excel: Version 2409 (Build 18025.20104) - Current Channel.

       

      I have tried uninstalling and re-installing Office, but that also does not fix the problem.

  • georgst's avatar
    georgst
    Regular Visitor

    Hi, 
    I have a similar issue. I worked with Power BI connection in Excel serveral months without any problems ... today I tried to update my data of the Power BI dataset and I got the same error message 

    I also tried your three options but nothing seems to work.

    When I try the same Power BI connection in Excel online everything works as fine.

     

    • Anonymous's avatar
      Anonymous
      Not applicable

      Hi georgst - I believe this is a bug with the latest build of Excel. Can you please confirm which version and build you are seeing the issue with? I was having the problem with Version 2409 Build 18025.20104

       

      The only current solution is to force Office to revert to a previous version. You can follow the instructions here to achieve that: https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/topic/how-to-revert-to-an-earlier-version-of-office-2bd5c457-a917-d57e-35a1-f709e3dda841

      • georgst's avatar
        georgst
        Regular Visitor

        Hi Anonymous  my version is 

        Microsoft® Excel® for Microsoft 365 MSO (Version 2409 Build 16.0.18025.20030) 64 Bit

        Yesterday I used the online version of Excel where I could work as usal. 

        I'll try the previus version dor bug fixing today thanks for the instructions link :).

        Anonymous  I also tried your provided options but with no success. I tried to insert a new PivotTable via PowerBI and this way I saw all the datasets for which my microsoft user is authorised. So it seams for me that it is not a Problem with switching user and/or tenants. 

    • maximebasque's avatar
      maximebasque
      New Member

      Hello everyone, I identified the problem while doing many tests.

       

      For an unknown reason at the level of the permissions of the Power BI reports, the security must be set "Admin" for the access to be functional by the new version of Excel Desktop App. If the role is not "Admin", the user loses access to the report via the Excel Desktop application.

       

      What is curious is that the Security Level “Member” does give access from Excel Online (From the web page), but not via the Excel Desktop App. The Excel application was downgraded back to the old version (16.0.17928.20156) so users can still work.

       

      I can now confirm that all Excel versions after 16.0.17928.20156 has the issue to access the Power Bi report if the users doesn’t have Admin access to this report.

       

      We did open a case with Microsoft for Excel, but they require to create a new ticket with the Power BI support team to look into this issue.

       

      Someone know if the Power BI support team is already aware of this problem ?

       

      Thank you

    • PabScar's avatar
      PabScar
      New Member

      Any Updates on this issue?
      Is there an estimate of competion for a proper fix?

      • Anonymous's avatar
        Anonymous
        Not applicable

        Hi PabScar ,

         

        The product team has narrowed down the issue to HTTP proxy authentication. They are currently checking with the team providing the code for authentication. There's no definite fix arrival time yet.

         

        Best Regards,
        Gao

        Community Support Team