Forum Discussion

Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous
Not applicable
4 years ago
Solved

How do I allow users to refresh Dashboard if Excel Workbook has been saved?

Hi, still pretty new to all this and possibly asking the most asked question. I have created a Dashboard for work that sources from a workbook in a shared network. If the workbook is saved with new data what do I need to do that will allow selected users to click a refresh and update the dashboard to show the changes?

 

All files are stored currently in a shared network at work and therefore this one small thing would allow me to build all the reporting on Power BI but its my stumbling block at the moment. Any and all help greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Mr D  :_)

  • Two ways:

    1. Allow users to click the Refresh button in the service. NOT RECOMMENDED. The workspace area is not designed to be user friendly for non-devs. They should only have access to the workspace app.
    2. Add a button to the report.
      1. Add Power Automate button
      2. Add no data to it. Isn't needed.
      3. In the service when editing the button, just add a step after the button is pressed to refresh the dataset.
      4. Give everyone on the team "run only" permissions to the flow.

    Note that they can only push the button as many times as the workspace allows for refreshes. So if it is a Pro workspace, then 8 times over 24 hrs. If Premium or Premium per User, it is 48.

1 Reply

  • edhans's avatar
    edhans
    Community Champion

    Two ways:

    1. Allow users to click the Refresh button in the service. NOT RECOMMENDED. The workspace area is not designed to be user friendly for non-devs. They should only have access to the workspace app.
    2. Add a button to the report.
      1. Add Power Automate button
      2. Add no data to it. Isn't needed.
      3. In the service when editing the button, just add a step after the button is pressed to refresh the dataset.
      4. Give everyone on the team "run only" permissions to the flow.

    Note that they can only push the button as many times as the workspace allows for refreshes. So if it is a Pro workspace, then 8 times over 24 hrs. If Premium or Premium per User, it is 48.