Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

fiwright1980

Expression.Error: There is an unknown identifier. Did you use the [field] shorthand for a _[field]..

This is a simple Power Query but as I'm new to using Power BI i'm completely stuck. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

- "Assessment Status" is a column with either "Required" or "Not Required" text in it.

Then 3 separate columns "Induction Formula Expiry Date", "Subs Formula Date" and "Card Expiry Date" which either contain a date or are blank/empty.

If "Assessment Status" contains Not Required then it returns Not Required. 

If "Assessment Status" contains Required then all the dates in the "Induction Formula Expiry Date", "Subs Formula Date" and "Card Expiry Date" columns need to be today's date or in the future.

If all dates are today or in the future then the text "Completed" is returned.  If one or more of those dates is in the past (yesterday or before) then it returns the text "Incomplete".

I have got as far as the code below. Please Help!  Thanks so much in advance.

= Table.AddColumn(#"Added Custom", "Completion", if [#"Assessment Status"] = "Not Required" then "Not Required" else if [#"Induction Formula Expiry Date"] >= [#"Today's Date"] and [#"Subs Formula Date"] >= [#"Today's Date"] and [#"Card Expiry Formula Date"] >= [#"Today's Date"] then "Completed" else "Incomplete")

3 REPLIES 3
edhans
Super User
Super User

You need the word "each" in all lower case before the keyword "if" in that function.

= Table.AddColumn(#"Added Custom", "Completion", each if [#"Assessment Status"] = "Not Required" then "Not Required" else if [#"Induction Formula Expiry Date"] >= [#"Today's Date"] and [#"Subs Formula Date"] >= [#"Today's Date"] and [#"Card Expiry Formula Date"] >= [#"Today's Date"] then "Completed" else "Incomplete")