Forum Discussion
Edit Personal Gateway?
- 9 years ago
Hi Betsy,
From your description, it seems that you run the On-premises data gateway (personal mode), right?
After the report publish to service, configure the dataset to use On-premises data gateway (personal mode), then we will need to enter credentials like in desktop as well. It means, though we change the source path in desktop then republish, as long as the machine hosts On-premises data gateway (personal mode) can reach the source, we needn't to made any change of On-premises data gateway (personal mode), we just need to enter credential again for the dataset.
While if you use the on-premise data gateway, after the source path change in desktop and publish to service, we need to create corresponding data source in data gateway to make the data gateway available for the dataset.
On-premises data gateway (personal mode) acts as a bridge between the data source and Power BI service. Remove On-premises data gateway (personal mode) will not delete any dashboard, report or dataset, just affect the dataset refresh.
Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu
Hi Betsy,
From your description, it seems that you run the On-premises data gateway (personal mode), right?
After the report publish to service, configure the dataset to use On-premises data gateway (personal mode), then we will need to enter credentials like in desktop as well. It means, though we change the source path in desktop then republish, as long as the machine hosts On-premises data gateway (personal mode) can reach the source, we needn't to made any change of On-premises data gateway (personal mode), we just need to enter credential again for the dataset.
While if you use the on-premise data gateway, after the source path change in desktop and publish to service, we need to create corresponding data source in data gateway to make the data gateway available for the dataset.
On-premises data gateway (personal mode) acts as a bridge between the data source and Power BI service. Remove On-premises data gateway (personal mode) will not delete any dashboard, report or dataset, just affect the dataset refresh.
Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu