Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The ultimate Microsoft Fabric, Power BI, Azure AI & SQL learning event! Join us in Las Vegas from March 26-28, 2024. Use code MSCUST for a $100 discount. Register Now

Brendy_P
Frequent Visitor

Compare 2 lists

HI All

Need your help and will try and explain as best as possible

I am trying to write a measure that will compare 2 tables and return the values that don't match

Table 1 is the dimension Table - named Fleet which is a fleet of cars numbered 1 to 10 for example

Table 2 is the fact table named cars cleaned

Let's say cars 1,2,3,4,5 were cleaned I want the measure to return 6,7,8,9,10 which weren't cleaned.

both tables are linked in the data model but I still cant write the mesure, do I need to approach the problem as a calculated instead 

Please help

Thank you

3 REPLIES 3
Brendy_P
Frequent Visitor

Thank you for your reply

I am a newbie and I am trying to grasp the language

The calculated column formula is what I am struggling to formulate

can you help me with the formula I was thinking of returning a True or False on the Fleet table if it matched or didn't match with the cars cleaned table then matching the Falses in a measure.

I thought     Buses not cleaned = Fleet[car]=Carscleaned[car] would work but it doesn't

Thank you

mahoneypat
Employee
Employee

You can try an expression like the one below.  It will give you a list of all the not cleaned cars.  You could also count them with COUNTROWS(__notcleaned), if needed in the Return.

Not Cleaned =
VAR __fleetcarsinscope =
    VALUES ( Fleet[CarID] )
VAR __cleanedcarsinscope =
    VALUES ( Fact[CarID] )
VAR __notcleaned =
    EXCEPT ( __fleetcarsinscope, __cleanedcarsinscope )
RETURN
    CONCATENATEX ( __notcleaned, [CarID], ", " )

If this works for you, please mark it as the solution.  Kudos are appreciated too.  Please let me know if not.

Regards,

Pat