Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

AmazingTrans
Regular Visitor

splitting multiple delimiter in column & find max

Hi there,

I am new with power bi. 

I have a column of data of numbers but currently it is text since it got imported from csv.

It has all sort of delimiters.

For example :

123&456

223/553

229-30

From the option split column, custom, can i insert more than one type of delimiter to split left and right?

After splitting, I would like to have another column that shows the max value between this two (min, & max) column.

How can i go about doing that?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MarcelBeug
Community Champion
Community Champion

It's not completely clear what you are trying to achieve; I assume that each value has 2 numbers that are separated by a delimiter, and you want the left and right numbers in separate columns.

The menu-option won't let you enter multiple delimiters, but you can enter one delimiter and then slightly adjust the generated code: I changed:
Splitter.SplitTextByDelimiter to Splitter.SplitTextByAnyDelimiter

the delimiter by a list of delimiters (comma separated and surrounded by curly brackets {}

let
    Source = #table(type table[Data = text],List.Zip({{"123&456","223/553","229-30"}})),
    #"Split Column by Delimiter" = Table.SplitColumn(Source, "Data", Splitter.SplitTextByAnyDelimiter({"&","/","-"}, QuoteStyle.Csv), {"Data.1", "Data.2"})
in
    #"Split Column by Delimiter"
Specializing in Power Query Formula Language (M)

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
chuongtt
Regular Visitor

Hi @MarcelBeug , 

I am a new user in power query, I have a table with the column (date) that has a different format, such as 01.04.2020 or 01/04/2020. Therefore, I would like to use a split delimiter to slit this out and combine it by try using your guide
But I had a problem: