Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

kconner
Employee
Employee

problem with appending

Hi

I am a newbie to PowerBI...

I have two tables in PowerBI that I'd like to append to a third. They all have the exact same column titles but contain different row data.

When I go to append them in PowerBI desktop query editor, it lets me append, but when I go to apply /close editor, I get an error:

"The name 'availability' (this is one of my column names) is already used for a column on table Mail&Calendar(the name of my initially selected table that I'm appending to). Choose a different name."

I don't understand

1) I thought the whole point of appending was to add rows of data that were the of the same type/column name. - why does it care that I have a column named the same?

2) why does it pick out this one column name as being similar (when all columns are named the same as the other appending files?

4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi fellows,

I have a similar issue with append query. I did the suggestion that you mentioned before but it still not working for me.

Your help is so much appreciated.

Cheers,

Clara

Problem with append.PNG

Data82
Regular Visitor

Hi kconner, 

I agree with you and am having the same problem.  I can't find anywhere else that anyone else is experiencing the problem.

This is what I have figured out so far.

One of my tables has a column of "Availability" and the other is "availability" 

Even though I have read that Power BI is case insensitive, when I append it actually creates 2 columns; one with "Availability" one with "availability".

Then when I click "close and apply" it's like it realises that it IS case insensitive and errors out because the columns shouldn't be separate.

No idea if this is helpful...but at least you're not alone!

Data82
Regular Visitor

Hi kconner,