Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

taylorlucy403
Regular Visitor

getting data from SAP BW Query that has been changed in SAP BW Backend.

Hello, 

I am an SAP BW Developer and new using PowerBI, but I must say, I'm very impressed.

Here is the following senario:

1) created an SAP BW Query via SAP's Query Designer

2) connected from PowerBI to the SAP BW Query and managed to create reports in PB; everything was fine.

3) Changes were made to the original SAP BW Query; new fields added....

The questions is; how do I reflect these new fields to the existing PB reports; that were linked to the original Query before the changes were made?

Any help, suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  🙂

Thank you,

Lucy Taylor

6 REPLIES 6
chotanas
Regular Visitor

Hi,  can you help me please, anyone know if I can see queries create in BW in Porwer BI , I have the connection in Power BI - BW but I can not see the Queries yet (just the cubes)..........( in the propierties of the Query , in  Extended/Advanced tab, I checked to let  Allow access to external OLEDB and I can not see it yet )

ankitpatira
Community Champion
Community Champion

@taylorlucy403 I believe this would be simple as going to Query Editor in power bi desktop, and then refreshing Query that is linked to your SAP BW. Refresh that you do via Query Editor also brings in metadata changes. Please let me know if that works as I've not used SAP BW in power bi before but I believe method of getting metadata changes in power bi is same for all data sources. 

Thank you Ankit, but I did try that, but it did not add any of the new fields that were added within the SAP BW backend environment.