Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Karimthedream
Frequent Visitor

currency conversions using daily rates - now PBI is super slooooooow

Hi,

im pretty new to PBI and i am struggling with conversion rates.

in summary:

• we have orders that come into a conversions table, these orders can be in any currency (one column for the currency, one column for the amount)
  • we then have a commission amount associated with each order, this too can be in any currency (again one column for the currency, a second column for the amount)
  • the order currency and the commission currency can be different for the same order

i would like to be able to convert both the order currency and the commission currency to GBP based on the exchange rate of the order date

My solution so far:

i have brought in a currency exchange rate table for all currencies to GBP, which provides a rate for each day, an extract of the table is below

Karimthedream_0-1682356764871.png

i then created a custom column to work out the exchange rate based on the order currency and the date of the order:

Order Amount Exchange Rate =

VAR OrderCurrency = 'Conversions & CPC Tables & PublisherConversions (Partners DB)'[OrderAmount_CurrencyCode]
VAR OrderDate = 'Conversions & CPC Tables & PublisherConversions (Partners DB)'[CreatedAt - DATE ONLY]
VAR ExchangeRate =
    CALCULATE(
        MIN('Exchange Rates'[Rate]),
        FILTER('Exchange Rates', 'Exchange Rates'[Currency] = OrderCurrency
            && 'Exchange Rates'[Date] = OrderDate)
    )
RETURN ExchangeRate

and then a second column to do the division:

Order Amount GBP = 'Conversions & CPC Tables & PublisherConversions (Partners DB)'[OrderAmount_Amount]/'Conversions & CPC Tables & PublisherConversions (Partners DB)'[Order Amount Exchange Rate]