Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

electrobrit
Post Patron
Post Patron

combine multiple files into one-each file is same but needs clean up, then refresh daily

I have multiple daily files (example I'll call- "Daily-2016-1-1.xlsx") Daily File Example

there are 2 sheets on each file, I only need Sheet1 or "data"  they live in a synced OneDrive for Bus folder (synced from sharepoint) (ex. Folder name: Help Desk Tickets) . This folder is refreshed with a daily file that is the same format day after day. 

I am new to Power BI and have tried a few things to consolidate like a months worth of daily files. 

I have tried to get data from folder combine binaries and I got error message:  The Input DataFormat.Error: The input couldn't be recognized as a valid Excel document.
Details:
Binary

I don't know if it's because they need formatting in order to combine or what.  However, after lots of research, I discovered to create the custom column 

"For Excel files from a folder you must Add a Custom Column and use the Excel.Workbook function.

=Excel.Workbook([Content])"

So I could now click on Table (on the top row which the first daily file) and clean up a file -remove the top rows, remove columns I don't need, promote headers, etc.

I was hoping all the other files in that folder will follow the steps in the query and voila.

However, it doesn't work. I am missing something.