Forum Discussion

Flawn's avatar
Flawn
Icon for Helper III rankHelper III
3 years ago
Solved

When attempting to save, PBI produces 'Notenoughmemory' error

Issue as written in the subject line. I've tracked on the task manager and there is no noticable change in memory use when i attempt to save - this issue is fairly recent and I can't see what I could have changed that caused it to start happening. It's fortunately only happening with two of my reports - but it's still a serious issue for obvious reasons.

The box we're running PBI out of should have far more RAM and memory than is neccessary - and I've already maxed out the data load options in the PBI settings, so I do not think the issue is *simply* a memory one. 

Link to the error details: https://www.dropbox.com/s/l2r8msuqplj1m9r/Error.txt?dl=0

Thanks for any help that you are able to provide!

  • Anonymous's avatar
    Anonymous
    3 years ago

    Hi Flawn 

    The "Not enough memory" error in Power BI can occur when you try to save a report or data model that requires more memory than is available. This can happen if the report or data model is very large, or if there are other programs running on your computer that are using a lot of memory.

    There are a few things you can try to resolve this error:

    1. Close any unnecessary programs that may be running on your computer, to free up more memory.

    2. Save the report or data model to a different location, such as a cloud service like OneDrive or SharePoint, which may have more available memory.

    3. Increase the amount of memory available to Power BI by adjusting the memory limits in the Options menu. To do this, go to File > Options and Settings > Options, and then select the Data Load tab. You can increase the maximum amount of memory used by the data model or the report server cache.

    4. If the report or data model is very large, you may need to optimize the design to reduce its size. For example, you can try removing unnecessary columns or measures, or using filters to reduce the amount of data that is loaded.

      Regards

      Dax_Noob

1 Reply

  • Anonymous's avatar
    Anonymous
    Not applicable

    Hi Flawn 

    The "Not enough memory" error in Power BI can occur when you try to save a report or data model that requires more memory than is available. This can happen if the report or data model is very large, or if there are other programs running on your computer that are using a lot of memory.

    There are a few things you can try to resolve this error:

    1. Close any unnecessary programs that may be running on your computer, to free up more memory.

    2. Save the report or data model to a different location, such as a cloud service like OneDrive or SharePoint, which may have more available memory.

    3. Increase the amount of memory available to Power BI by adjusting the memory limits in the Options menu. To do this, go to File > Options and Settings > Options, and then select the Data Load tab. You can increase the maximum amount of memory used by the data model or the report server cache.

    4. If the report or data model is very large, you may need to optimize the design to reduce its size. For example, you can try removing unnecessary columns or measures, or using filters to reduce the amount of data that is loaded.

      Regards

      Dax_Noob