Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Backpacker4Life
Frequent Visitor

Trying to use a SELECTEDVALUE in CONTAINSROW

For context, I'm still fairly new to DAX. In a table visual, I have a list of dates and I am trying to see if those dates match any dates in a holiday dates table. And I want to do so based on the country selected in a slicer. I was able to filter the holiday dates table down to the selected country and then based on the date on the table visual, it shows "same" if the date is on the Holiday dates table and "diff" if it isn't on the holiday dates table:

VAR countryHoliday = DISTINCT(SELECTCOLUMNS(FILTER( 'zHolidays','zHolidays'[Country] = SELECTEDVALUE( 'zLocation'[Country] ) ),"Dates", [List of Dates]))

RETURN
IF(CONTAINSROW({SELECTEDVALUE( zDate[Date] )}, countryHoliday), "same", "diff")

This works as expected when this measure gets added to the table visual which has the zDate[Date] column.

I then want to be able to see if 2 days prior to each date in the zDate[Date] column is on the holiday dates calendar. So I tried this:
IF(CONTAINSROW({SELECTEDVALUE( zDate[Date] )-2}, countryHoliday), "same", "diff")

But this doesn't work and I can't understand why. And I can't use DATEADD([zDate[Date], 2, DAY) because that doesn't seem to work either.

Any ideas? 
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
V-lianl-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Delete this relationship:

Vlianlmsft_0-1636016542296.png

In addition, you can abbreviate the formula to this:

Working Measure = 

IF(SELECTEDVALUE( zDates[Date])in VALUES('zHoliday Calendar'[List of Dates]), "holiday", "regular")

Vlianlmsft_1-1636016656878.png

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
V-lianl-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Delete this relationship:

Vlianlmsft_0-1636016542296.png

In addition, you can abbreviate the formula to this: