Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

mike87
Frequent Visitor

Sum data by month

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Power BI, so this might be an easy fix, but I haven't been able to "google" the answer.

I have a data set with reported incidents which is either resolved within the time limit or not. Unfortunately, I am not able to upload the data due to privacy. However, I have created a very simple example of the data in excel which should illustrate the problem.

data.PNG

I want to crate a new table and group/sum all cases which is resolved within the time limit by month, and calculate the percentage. 

I have literally no clue how to do it with DAX.

data2.PNG

Any help would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mede
Resolver I
Resolver I

@mike87 this is fairly easy and there are multiple ways:

For both ways make sure that your Date column is in date format. PBI recognizes your Date as a hierarchy of Year, Quarter, Month and Date; in a visual you can remove year, quarter and date leaving just Month. Alternatively you can create a calculated column for month by New Column >> Month = MONTH('Dim Date'[Date]) 

Easy way: Create a matrix, bring your date (Month) into rows, ResolvedWithinLimit into Columns, incident id (aggregation: count distinct) into values. Then display t the values (count distinct of incident ids) as a percentage of row total using quick measures.

A little bit more advanced way: create a new measures using the magical CALCULATE & ALL DAX functions.

Count of ResolvedWithinLimit = CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(incident_id), ResolvedWithinLimit = 1)

Count of all resolved = CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(incident_id), ALL(ResolvedWithinLimit)

ResolvedWithinLimit% = Count of ResolvedWithinLimit / Count of all resolved (change type to percentage)