Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

tomcch
Frequent Visitor

Single Slicer to Filter Multiple Columns

Hi, i am a beginner of Power BI.

I have data like below.

I would like to create a slicer to allow user to filter shipment that involve a particular party.

If filter = "A", then result should be shipment 1/2/3/4/5

if filter = "B", then result should be shipment 2/3/6

I tried to follow some of the tutorial here, which is about to create a new table and new measure...but doesn't work, i cannot select the new measure as a slicer.
Appreciate for your assistance...thank you. 🙂

tomcch_0-1694185654785.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
CoreyP
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi Tomcch,

I was actually curious about this so I decided to have a go at it. I found a video online and worked through it and got it to work! Here's what you need to do:

1.  Add a calculated column to your shipments table. 

Key = COMBINEVALUES( "|" , Shipments[Agent] , Shipments[Consignee] , Shipments[End Customer] , Shipments[Payee] , Shipments[Shipper] )

2.  Create a new calculated table.
Slicer =
DISTINCT(
UNION(
    SELECTCOLUMNS( Shipments , "Selection" , Shipments[Agent] , "Key" , Shipments[Key] ) ,
    SELECTCOLUMNS( Shipments , "Selection" , Shipments[Consignee] , "Key" , Shipments[Key]  ) ,
    SELECTCOLUMNS( Shipments , "Selection" , Shipments[End Customer] , "Key" , Shipments[Key]  ) ,
    SELECTCOLUMNS( Shipments , "Selection" , Shipments[Payee] , "Key" , Shipments[Key]  ) ,
    SELECTCOLUMNS( Shipments , "Selection" , Shipments[Shipper] , "Key" , Shipments[Key]  )
))

3. Establish a relationship between the tables on Key, set to bi-directional filtering. 
CoreyP_0-1694388549353.png

4.  On your report canvas, add a slicer using the "Selection" field. 

CoreyP_1-1694388620871.pngCoreyP_2-1694388649007.png