Forum Discussion

LastPBI_123's avatar
LastPBI_123
New Member
1 year ago
Solved

Shared and deleted (?)

Hi there, I've a file *.pbix build on desktop version 2.141.1253.0 64-bit (March 2025). Into this file there are different pages with customized dashboards and all works fine. Now, when I click the box share (green button upper right corner) I obtain a link (settable in full control or only read) to share the view my file. So, I setted the link "only read", copied and shared it with other users. The users, after click on link, can view the dashboards and navigate through the pages but there is one big problem.

In this online view of file, the users can't modify the file because it is only read setted but at the same time they can delete* the file thanks the basket icon in the upper left corner.

I need to modify this kind menu to avoid accidental deleted of file by the users.

Please someone know how does it possibly eliminate the backet icon?

 

*This is an online file saved in SharePoint. This action, acted by "only read" users, delete the file in SharePoint too. Sincerely for me is incompressible.

  • Hi LastPBI_123,

    Thank you for reaching out to the Microsoft Fabric Forum Community.

     

    I understand your concern about users with "Can view" permissions still being able to delete the Power BI file shared via SharePoint. I tested this scenario in my organization and would like to share my findings with you. 

    I shared a .pbix file stored in SharePoint using the "Can view" option and confirmed that the user does not see the delete (trash/bin) icon. 

     

    • To prevent users from deleting the file, review the SharePoint library permissions where the file is stored. Navigate to the document library, go to Settings > Library Settings > Permissions for this document library, and check the user's access level. If users are part of groups like Members or Owners, they may still have edit or delete rights even if the file was shared with "Can view" permissions. Assign them to the Visitors group to provide read-only access and remove deleted privileges. 
    • If your file or folder is inheriting permissions from its parent library or folder, users might still have higher access levels. To fix this, go to the file or folder’s permission settings, click "Stop Inheriting Permissions", and then customize access for that item. This will let you remove any unwanted edit or delete rights and ensure users have only the intended level of access. 

    If this post helps, then please give us ‘Kudos’ and consider Accept it as a solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

     

    Thank you.

1 Reply

  • v-saisrao-msft's avatar
    v-saisrao-msft
    Icon for Community Support rankCommunity Support

    Hi LastPBI_123,

    Thank you for reaching out to the Microsoft Fabric Forum Community.

     

    I understand your concern about users with "Can view" permissions still being able to delete the Power BI file shared via SharePoint. I tested this scenario in my organization and would like to share my findings with you. 

    I shared a .pbix file stored in SharePoint using the "Can view" option and confirmed that the user does not see the delete (trash/bin) icon. 

     

    • To prevent users from deleting the file, review the SharePoint library permissions where the file is stored. Navigate to the document library, go to Settings > Library Settings > Permissions for this document library, and check the user's access level. If users are part of groups like Members or Owners, they may still have edit or delete rights even if the file was shared with "Can view" permissions. Assign them to the Visitors group to provide read-only access and remove deleted privileges. 
    • If your file or folder is inheriting permissions from its parent library or folder, users might still have higher access levels. To fix this, go to the file or folder’s permission settings, click "Stop Inheriting Permissions", and then customize access for that item. This will let you remove any unwanted edit or delete rights and ensure users have only the intended level of access. 

    If this post helps, then please give us ‘Kudos’ and consider Accept it as a solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

     

    Thank you.