Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Joachimnicho
Frequent Visitor

Return a value based on the latest date

Hi,

I have an issue. 

I am trying to return a value, which is text, based on a date corresponding to the same row, but in a different column.

The problem is, that I have som duplicate values in the column, where I wish to return the value.

So I am trying to build a formula, which returns a text value based on the latest date. 

I have tried multiple variations of LOOKUPVALUE combined with LASTDATE and MAX, but it keeps saying that "A table of multiple values was supplied where a single value was expected"

Any help is appreciated, since I am new to Power Bi. 🙂  

8 REPLIES 8
Eric_Zhang
Employee
Employee

@Joachimnicho wrote:

Hi,

I have an issue. 

I am trying to return a value, which is text, based on a date corresponding to the same row, but in a different column.

The problem is, that I have som duplicate values in the column, where I wish to return the value.

So I am trying to build a formula, which returns a text value based on the latest date. 

I have tried multiple variations of LOOKUPVALUE combined with LASTDATE and MAX, but it keeps saying that "A table of multiple values was supplied where a single value was expected"

@Joachimnicho

You can see a simple demo as below.

return value =
 ( CALCULATE ( MAX ( Sheet[date] ), ALLEXCEPT ( Sheet, Sheet[value] ) ) )
return =
MAXX ( FILTER ( Sheet, Sheet[date] = Sheet[lasted date] ), Sheet[value] )

Capture.PNGCapture.PNG

@Eric_Zhang wrote:

@Joachimnicho wrote:

Hi,

I have an issue. 

@Joachimnicho

return value =
return =

@Eric_Zhang wrote:

@Joachimnicho wrote:

Hi,

I have an issue. 

@Joachimnicho

return value =
return =

I have tried to apply your formula. 

Firstly, the "return value" formula returns a date - not a value?