The user being connected has no influence whatsoever. The dataset is refreshed against a shadow copy. Once the refresh is successful, that shadow copy will be blitted in (swapped in). When the user next refreshes their browser session (or changes report pages) they will see the new data. Until then they will continue to see the previous data.