Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Majeebus
Frequent Visitor

Quick Measure-Difference from filtered value shows different totals depending on where placed

Hey guys, this is my first post here.  This forum has helped me a lot though.  I will start by saying I'm not a pro at this.  I like designing dashboards, and try to use only quick measures if I can get away with it.  Anyway, I have a dashboard that brings in multiple tables using star schema.  My dashboard uses measures to compare the two main tables (time eval and late time).  The visualization I'm focusing on here is a combo clustered column chart.  

Time Eval Timely Trend.jpg

 The image doesn't seem to want to post clearly.  Anyway it shows two colums in most months.  The first is the 2021 %timely column and the second is the 2022 % timely column.  

There is a secondary line that is supposed to show the percentage difference between 2022 and 2021.  

So here is the wierd thing.  I used a few measures to get to the % timely. 

The first is: 

Org minus Org =
COUNTA('Time Eval'[Org]) - COUNTA('Late Time'[Org])

I then take that measure and divide by the original count to get the % Timely:
%Timely =
DIVIDE([Org minus Org], COUNTA('Time Eval'[Org]))

So, the final measure is a quick measure called Difference from Filtered Value which should give me the percentage difference between 2022 and 2021:
%Timely difference from 2021 =
VAR __BASELINE_VALUE = CALCULATE([%Timely], 'Date Lookup'[Logical Date ID].[Year] IN { 2021 })
VAR __MEASURE_VALUE = [%Timely]
RETURN
    IF(NOT ISBLANK(__MEASURE_VALUE), __MEASURE_VALUE - __BASELINE_VALUE)