Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Gevans64
Frequent Visitor

Preparing Access Database for BI Dashboards

Hi,

I'm new to databases and power BI and have run into an issue that I wasn't expecting.  

I have created an Access database with several tables and queries, however when I open the database (.accdb) in Power BI, the queries are not there, only the tables.  

I'm most likely missing something very simple, but could really do with some guidence. 

Many Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @Gevans64,

I create a simple query in Access database, when I connect to Access database from Power BI Desktop, the Access query shows up in Power BI Desktop Navigator, please take a look at the following screenshots.
1.PNG2.PNG

In your scenario, please check that if you have any functions in the Access queries. If you have functions, please remove them from Access queries, then check if these queries come back in Power BI Desktop Navigator. There is a similar thread for your reference.

Thanks,
Lydia Zhang

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @Gevans64,

I create a simple query in Access database, when I connect to Access database from Power BI Desktop, the Access query shows up in Power BI Desktop Navigator, please take a look at the following screenshots.
1.PNG2.PNG

In your scenario, please check that if you have any functions in the Access queries. If you have functions, please remove them from Access queries, then check if these queries come back in Power BI Desktop Navigator. There is a similar thread for your reference.

Thanks,
Lydia Zhang