Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Waka

Power Pivot Measure to calculate average rate of by profession - All external filters should apply

Hi Team,

Same story, I am new to power pivots and learning DAX,

a) I have the following dataset and I want to compare average price of an individual to compare against the average price of the profession he is in. Currently I have calculated the last column "Avg. by Profession using regular AVERAGEIFS i.e. =AVERAGEIFS([Price],[Profession],[@Profession] I'm not sure how to achieve the same results using calculate columns in DAX

Waka_0-1686366041912.png

b) I want to pull the same average (i.e. professions category average) in a power pivot but without pulling in profession in the rows, columns or filters. The final output should look like this.

Waka_1-1686366506582.png

but I'm struggling with calculating Average by Table1[Profession] Column in the above picture, I have tried using DAX =CALCULATE(AVERAGE(Table1[Price]),ALLEXCEPT(Table1,Table1[Profession])) but it is not giving the results in the picture, The wrong view is as below:

Waka_2-1686366896526.png

Can you guys please help me? Note: I want external filters to be applied in the measure, I have a large dataset over several years, so I want to be able to put the years in the filter and in that case the category average should only be based on values within that selected year. 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
ryan_mayu
Super User
Super User

@Waka 

you can try a column

avg by profession = CALCULATE(AVERAGE('Table'[Price]),ALLEXCEPT('Table','Table'[Profession]))

and create measures

avg price = AVERAGE('Table'[Price])

avg of profession2 = AVERAGe('Table'[avg by profession])

rate vs average = [avg of profession2]-[avg price]

1.PNG

pls see the attachment below