Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Colin_1994

Power BI - Trending Data

Hi,

Little disclaimer, I'm very new to Power BI and not sure if it is the best way to solve our 'issue'.

Within my organisation we have a system producing the exact same CSV file, with updated data over a set schedule. It basically produces a duplicate file, with just new measurements. The system automatically uploads these files into a Sharepoint folder.

Currently, we have to manually extract the information and put it into another excel file to perform trend analysis.

I am able to connect Power BI to the Sharepoint folder, however is it possible for Power BI to automatically refresh either on a set schedule or when a new file is loaded into the folder, as well as retain the old measurements to allow for trend analysis?

Thanks in advance for any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

HI @Colin_1994,

You can refer to the following link to get data from the file that stored in SharePoint, it should use one drive refresh after you publish to power bi service side: (refresh hourly and replace source file operation should trigger the refresh)

Use OneDrive for Business links in Power BI Desktop 

Data refresh in Power BI 

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
RickOShay
Frequent Visitor

Hi,

This is an old post marked with a solution, but there really is no solution. Someone mentioned that it can be done, but did not provide any information on how. Does anyone have any information on how to achieve retaining each refresh so we can look at trends?

Thanks,

Colin_1994