Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

tiredMonk
Frequent Visitor

Percentage total as bubble size not working despite measure working in table - please help

Hi there 😊 I'm new to the Power BI community, so please forgive me if my etiquette is a bit off.

I am creating a report on population. I am using the scatter chart visual to create a bubble chart. On the x axis I have geography, and on y I have the population. Each bubble represents an age group, and I want to use a slicer to run through the date.

I want to have the bubble size to be determined by the percentage each age group contributes to the total for each region for each year. However, all bubbles are the same size, 100%. 

I tried many different approaches to calculate the % total; as I was trying to make it as clear and easy for myself as possible, I've done it in three measures. (Unnecessary, but I was trying to spell it out for myself). These are those measures:

##OBS_VALUE is the column name for observed population 
total = SUM(Population_LA_appended[OBS_VALUE])

bigtotal = CALCULATE(Population_LA_appended[total], ALL(Population_LA_appended[Age_group]))

% total = DIVIDE([total], [bigtotal], 0)

I still had the issue so I put in a matrix (shown below). In the matrix, the values are shown exactly how I want them on the bubble plot. But, as you can see, the bubbles are all the same size in the visual.

tiredMonk_0-1650979265767.png

I'm quite confused why this isn't working, but I think that is all information that is relevant. I'd greatly appreciate any advice or suggestions you have. I'm happy to answer any questions you have, too. 

Thanks very much ☺

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi, thanks so much for your reply!