Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

karolp
Frequent Visitor

Need support with calculated columns

Hello together

I have following problem.

I created a working dashboards in Power BI according to the initial assumptions. Right now I need to develop it and here need a support as I am a total beginner with DAX. 

Every dashboard takes data (measurement data) from few measurement equipments. The data which are uploaded from every measurement equipment have the same table format as the columns headers are the same due to the same measurement program in every equipment. Then in PowerBI all tables from diferent measurement equipment are appended into one table ['ALL_Table']. 

To this table I added - actually based totally on solutions from this forum- three calculated columns to calculate:

#1. MeasurementID - index value for every measurement. This value is sorted first by serial product number ['SerialNumber']. The serial product number is corresponding to the order of production (combination of date and produced item number at that day). When the serial product number is duplicated (one product can be measured or once or multiple times) then measurement is sorted by date&time of measurement ['DateTime'], which is a unique value.

It's needed to sort the results in order of production, not according to the time of measurement and also it is a basis for X-axis on line charts to keep the x-axis as continous and avoid the long intervals between the measurement results on the charts.

The code of this calculated column:

MeasurementID = 
VAR Ranks = RANKX(ALL(ALL_Table), ALL_Table[SerialNumber],,ASC)
VAR CountIfExists = CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(ALL_Table),FILTER(ALL_Table,ALL_Table[SerialNumber] = EARLIER(ALL_Table[SerialNumber]) && ALL_Table[DateTime] <= EARLIER(ALL_Table[DateTime]))) - 1
RETURN