Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

martinriddar
Frequent Visitor

Need help understanding extra queries generated by enabling RLS

I'm very new to power bi so I'm hopefully just missing something obvious but here we go...

I'm developing a report where I get data from a single SQL Server database, some tables are imported and some are DirectQuery (BIG fact tables, import is not an option).

I've got one fact table which (among other things) contains the columns system, device, date, timestamp, event and event_value. I have a line graph where I put the timestamp on the x-axis and the event_value on the y-axis and I have single select slicers for the system, device and date columns. This works fine when I don't enable row level security. The queries sent to the database contains the correct filters and get good execution plans.

If I enable row level security, an extra query is sent to the database which (to me) makes no sense. The query is fetching all distinct values from the timestamp column and it has no filters except one on the system column which comes from the RLS rule so it is querying the table from the beginning of time until now. Below is an edited version of the query that is sent:

SELECT
TOP (1000001) [t16].[timestamp]
FROM
(
(
select [$Table].[system] as [system],
[$Table].[device] as [device],
[$Table].[date] as [date],
[$Table].[timestamp] as [timestamp],
[$Table].[event] as [event],
[$Table].[event_value] as [event_value],
from [fact].[dv] as [$Table]
)
)
AS [t16]
WHERE
(
([t16].[system] IN (15,30,16,31,17,1,18,33,2,34,3,19,35,20,36,4,21,37,5,22,6,23,7,24,9,11,25,26,12,27,13,29))
)
GROUP BY [t16].[timestamp]