Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

sebastian_ebg
Helper I
Helper I

Multi-table DAX Attribution Model

I'm trying to generate an attribution model for our company's emails based off a few different related tables. I'm fairly new to DAX, so I've been fumbling around a bit searching for examples of how to achieve the result we're looking for.

The attribution model we're looking at using is linear attribution because it works best with the way our industry operates.

The logic behind this is as follows:

[Attributed Individual Mailing Sales] =
[Total converted customer purchase value] / [Total customer opens]

If I were to plot a simple example, where the X axis is the individual mailings, the Y axis is the individual customers, and the values are the total customer conversion divided by the number of emails opened, it would look something like this:

CustomerKey1011121314Conversion
1   $24.99$24.99$49.97
2 $39.50$39.50  $79.00
3 $-    
5   $74.00$74.00$148.00
6  $23.00 $23.00$46.00
7  $-   
8 $71.98$71.98 $71.98$215.95
9 $-    
10$3.80$3.80$3.80$3.80$3.80$19.00
Attribution$3.80$115.28$138.28$102.79$197.77$557.92

The data model that I have created is in an example file hosted here.

I've tried creating a few measures and calculated columns to determine the total conversion value in the LineItems table which is properly filtering to only customers who have a direct conversion and have opened emails. The measure is returning the correct value ($557.92), while still properly obeying filtering.

CALCULATE(SUM(LineItems[Value]),LineItems[MailOpens] > 0,
LineItems[Direct Attribution] = TRUE())