Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

AshwinGoyal

Issues in Line and Clustered Column Chart

Hi,

I have been working with excel for many years and i am new to PowerBI. Can some one please help on the below issue i am facing?

My data contains a category column which defines the type of error in each transaction. There are only 4 types of errors. In the visualisation using "Line and clustered column chart", i want to be able to select 3 errors in a line chart and 1 in column chart. In excel it was very easy to do this using the combo chart option and excel itself gave the option of customizing each category into either line or column. But in PowerBI, it does not allow me to customize a specific cateogry. It treats the entire column into a single category.

I have attached screenshots from both Excel and PowerBI.

thanksExcel-Options.JPGPowerBI-Options.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yiruan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @AshwinGoyal ,

I created a sample pbix file(see attachment) for you, please check whether that is what you want.

1. Create two measure to get the line count(3 categories) and column count(1 category)

Note: Here is a little trick, you can use that one category name as the name of the measure.

line count = 
CALCULATE (
    COUNT ( 'Table'[Category] ),
    FILTER ( 'Table', 'Table'[Category] IN { "error01", "error02", "error03" } )
)
error04 = 
CALCULATE (
    FILTER ( 'Table', 'Table'[Category] = "error04" )
)

2. Create a line and clustered column chart(Shared Axis: Date  Column series: Category  Column Values: error04  Line values: line count)

yingyinr_0-1625736885219.png

Best Regards

Community Support Team _ Rena
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.