Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

kxj54590
Helper II
Helper II

Issue in Dax (Caluclated column).

Hello everyone, 

I am a novice user in power bi, slowly upgrading myself to multiple scenarios, have recently came across a situation to resolve the output by random change in the rate value passed through a parameter. The issue over here is I have written a switch dax function and applied the logic, however, it gives me output as zero. 

Is there any other work around to get the desired results in the "dynamic_bin_column" ? I am attaching the document as well for the solution, please provide a direction/guidance.

Thanks everyone for your valuable time & effort !!

https://ucmo0-my.sharepoint.com/:u:/g/personal/kxj54590_ucmo_edu/EVXeIu1apspAukQFl_-b39sB7_gJ1ryuBVO... 

@PhilipTreacy, @parry2k @AlexPowers 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Syndicate_Admin
Administrator
Administrator

There @Syndicate_Admin@kxj54590

Download this PBIX file with code shown below

This calculation should be done with a Measure rather than a Column. Here's the DAX for the Measure

dynamic_bin_measure = SWITCH (

TRUE, 

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] = 0, 0,

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] <= SELECTEDVALUE(Input[2 Tier Range]) , 1,

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] > SELECTEDVALUE(Input[2 Tier Range]) &&  Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] <= SELECTEDVALUE(Input[3 Tier Range]), 2,

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] > SELECTEDVALUE(Input[3 Tier Range]) &&  Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] <= SELECTEDVALUE(Input[4 Tier Range]), 3,

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] > SELECTEDVALUE(Input[4 Tier Range]) &&  Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] <= SELECTEDVALUE(Input[5 Tier Range]), 4,

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] > SELECTEDVALUE(Input[5 Tier Range]), 5,

)